Thursday, January 13, 2011

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority - Milwaukee Alumnae Chapter also announces its Delta of the Year From Friday, Jan. 7 through Sunday, Jan. 9, members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.-Milwaukee Alumnae Chapter will honor the legacy of 22 young women with its annual “Founders Day” weekend of events. Dr. Paulette C. Walker, the sorority’s National First Vice President will be the Founders Day Luncheon keynote speaker on Saturday, Jan. 8. All Delta Sigma Theta Sorority members are invited to attend. Founders Day weekend costs are $50 per person.
On January 13, 1913, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded by 22 collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. The first public act performed by the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women’s Suffrage March in Washington D.C., March 1913. Delta Sigma Theta was incorporated in 1930. Today it has more than 200,000 members and 900 chapters in the United States, Germany, Korea, Japan and the Virgin Islands. The sorority provides community service nationally and locally around its five key areas: educational development, economic development, mental and physical health, international awareness and social and political action. Locally, its Milwaukee Alumnae Chapter has been making an impact and transforming lives in the community since January 27, 1945.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Convert RSS to PDFEskoboAdd this site to your Protopage Subscribe in RojogritwireSubscribe with Pluck RSS readerBotABlogSubscribe in NewsAlloySolosubSimpify!Subscribe in myEarthlinkMultiRSSAdd to Technorati Favorites!Add to your phoneBittyBrowser

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by 2008

Back to TOP  

wordpress hosting